A beautiful walk to work: Spring…

I am lucky enough to be able to walk to work….and I love it πŸ™‚

I walk to work most days, it takes about an hour each way and with it being around a 7 mile round trip door to door, it does wonders for my health and fitness!

More than just the physical benefits of walking 2 hoursΒ a day, I really appreciate the less obvious ones, such as having time to clear my head and be with myself, listen to my music or my audio books, the bonus of so much fresh air and the fact that it is much less stressful than getting the bus or driving…! I count myself lucky to be able to work off calories in such an enjoyable way! πŸ˜‰

Recently I realised that as often as I walk to work, I don’t always lookΒ at whats around me. I know its there, its just sometimes I don’t fully appreciate it…that’s when I had the idea to share my walk with all of you and to keep a little photo journal of my walk for each season!

Today is Spring and it’s one of my favourites (they all are for different reasons!). Spring is amazing time for my walk; from all of the flowers that pop up on a daily basis to the cold, crisp but insanely sunny mornings that never fail to make me smile! πŸ™‚

The photos are in order of my journey from the front door of our little flat to the very gorgeous James Graham Building at the Leeds Metropolitan University campus!

I have never worked anywhere so beautiful……

14 thoughts on “A beautiful walk to work: Spring…

  1. What a gorgeous walk to work, Steph! Seven miles round-trip is awesome and must keep you so fit. I walk part of my way to work, and it is about 2 miles overall. I know I burn calories and keep my body healthy with just that bit of walking, so your trip must be doing wonders. It helps me clear my head too. St. John’s Church is so beautiful (and ancient) and Hyde Park is so green! Love the flowers and the blossoming tree.

    • Thanks Ngan! I love it! Im very lucky! 2 miles every day is brilliant too! I think walking is good for the body and the soul πŸ™‚ So many flowers around this time of year although, it all still looks very beautiful even in the rain! x

  2. *sigh* your beautiful photos are making me miss Leeds! I feel as though I should have taken more notice of my surroundings now! I used to work right near the canal and feed the ducks on my lunch break, it was such good thinking time! Ps what audio book are you listening to at the moment? I love audio books!

    • Ahh Gab! I used to work down by the canal!! Where abouts did you work? I love feeding the ducks, I used to sometimes pop down by oracle and give them some ducky treats! Currently listening to real chick lit book called ‘Can you keep a secret?’ by Sophie Kinsella. I tend to mentally wander in and out of my books whilst I’m on the way to work so try not to get anything that I really need to pay attention to else i’ll miss it! I am reading a really good book at the moment though, its called ‘Gone Girl’ – brilliant! P.s. Loving all the sweet and sour goodies you are baking up πŸ™‚ xx

      • I used to work at ASDA House, we totally could have been duck feeding buddies haha. Oh I’m the same, if I walk and listen I tend to zone in and out – audio books are such good mental stimulation though, and a great way to pass time!
        I’ve heard about Gone Girl, it’s on my list of things to read! I hope it’s fabulous πŸ™‚ I’m not listening to any audio books at the moment, but I’m loving listening to This American Life – you should check it out, I think you’d like it.
        Thank you πŸ™‚ I’ve been baking loads recently…my blood sugar levels are probably through the roof haha. xo

  3. Lovely to see your pictures.
    I wonder if our paths cross as I do most of your walk each day but in reverse. I live a few minutes away from James Graham and work at the City Site.
    I even enjoy the walk in winter with moon lit mornings and silhouettes of the trees.

    • Possibly Hilary! πŸ™‚ Aren’t we so lucky! Yes, the moon lit mornings are very beautiful in the winter time – hopefully I’ll be able to take a couple of snaps during that season too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

