Birthday Cupcakes for a Birthday Girl

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/11588343/?claim=tzb8a42rj58″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a> IMG_2990Well……the last 2 weeks have been busy to say the least! I’ve just finished Jury service which was quite an experience! Absolutely exhausting (and freezing cold!!) but definitely not boring….!

You wouldn’t believe it but I’ve actually done loads of baking of the past 2 weeks…..and I didn’t photograph any of it!! Why? No idea….

I did however get asked by a lovely work colleague to make 36 cupcakes for her daughters 13th birthday party! Naturally I happily obliged and set to work on a bit of a brief….which is exactly what it was! The birthday girl wanted 18 vanilla cupcakes with vanilla icing and 18 vanilla cupcakes with chocolate icing…..that’s pretty simple then!

I wanted to girly them up a little as I was aware that the birthday girl was indeed a ‘girly girl’. With this in mind I settled on using edible glitter in 2 different colours and using an edible paint in pink to paint the ’13’s’ I would be using as decoration on the cakes.

(Click on the smaller picture of the vanilla cupcake on the right hand side below – looks better when you see it close up!)

IMG_2905IMG_2914IMG_2936

I cut the number 13’s out of white icing 4 days before they were needed in order to let them dry and stiffen and 2 days before the party, I painstakingly painted each number pink!  It took me over an hour to do but I was really happy with the result!

No recipe here as this was just my standard vanilla cupcake recipe but I was so pleased with the results that I wanted to share them with you 🙂

IMG_2959

IMG_2964IMG_2966


Its difficult to tell from the snaps (phone camera – sorry!) but there is a ton of glitter on these babies! I also used my
newest piping nozzle – I already know that I shouldn’t love it quite as much as I do!!! 

Thanks,

S & P x

IMG_2991

6 thoughts on “Birthday Cupcakes for a Birthday Girl

  1. So adorable… I should probably mention now that vanilla cupcakes with chocolate frosting are my most favorite cupcake in the entire world. Like it’s a serious love affair that I have with them. You did a beautiful job decorating them… any girly-girl would be thrilled with them, I’m sure!! xx

Leave a Reply

