Queen of Hearts ♥

IMG_2832This week I really just wanted to have a bit of fun with my baking – I wanted to do something different and have a little play around! 🙂

I decided on these scrummy treats, partly because I love Jammy Dodgers and partly because its the run up to Valentine’s Day! Even if you don’t have love for Valentine’s day itself, you still have love for Jammy Dodger’s, right?!

 

With these, I especially love how the jammy dodgers look at the bottom of the muffin cases when they come out of the oven 🙂

These cupcakes are pretty much cup-muffins, huge and very very sweet, not for the faint hearted! They look pretty though and will (hopefully) impress your friends and family 🙂 Give them a whirl and let me know what you think!

So….here’s the heads up – some bits worked, some bits need…..a little improvement! I’m ok with this, as the saying goes – we learn from our mistakes! I was really happy with the cakes in general but when it came to the icing it was far too soft! Forgot the golden rule of not adding too much ‘liquid’ and so completely threw the mixture off when I added the jam in one go!

I managed to sort of save it and later found this really helpful hints and tips website for thickening different types of icing….

Anyway, to the recipe!

IMG_2837

Ingredients:

For the sponge:

18 Muffin cases
110g unsalted butter – at room temp
225g golden caster sugar
2 large eggs
150g self-raising flour
120g plain flour
120ml semi skimmed milk – at room temp
1 teaspoon of vanilla essence
Full sized Jammy Dodgers

For the topping:

110g unsalted butter – at room temp
60ml of semi skimmed milk – at room temp
1 tsp of vanilla extract
500g icing sugar
200g raspberry jam
Mini Jammy Dodgers (for decoration)

Recipe:

1. Place a jammy dodger ‘heart down’ in to the bottom of each of the muffin cases.

IMG_2835IMG_2836IMG_2839

 

 

 

 


2.
 Preheat your oven to 180c or 160c (fan) and line a 12 hole muffin tray with the jammy dodger filled muffin cases.

3. Using an electric mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

4. Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing for a few minutes between each one.

5. In a separate bowl, combine the self raising and plain flour and put the milk in a jug with the vanilla essence.

6. Add 1/3 of the flours to the butter and sugar mixture, beat well. Add in 1/3 of the milk to the mixture and beat again. Repeat until all flour and milk have been added.

7. Carefully spoon the mixture in to the muffin cases – making sure they are about 2/3rd’s full.

IMG_2840

8. Bake in the oven for around 25 minutes until slightly raised and golden brown. A skewer should come out clean after being inserted in to the middle of each cake.

9. Remove from oven and leave cakes to cool for 5-10 minutes before placing on a wire rack to cool.

10. Once the cakes have cooled – use a shaped cake plunge, or a knife to cut a small hole in to the middle of your cupcakes. I used a heart shaped one.

IMG_2841IMG_2815IMG_2834

 

 

 

 


11. 
Fill the holes with strawberry jam

Tip: I find it easier to pipe the jam in – makes it a little neater! :)

12. Using a large mixing bowl and an electric mixer, beat the butter, milk, vanilla extract and half of the icing sugar until smooth.

Remember: Sift in the icing sugar

13. Gradually add the remainder of the icing sugar and beat again until the buttercream is smooth and creamy.

14. Gradually add in the 200g of raspberry jam

Tip: This is definitely where I went wrong – try adding the jam in a tablespoon at a time….you will soon know if you have the right consistency. It needs to be thick enough to pipe properly. Why not watch this video 🙂

15. Spoon the mixture in to a piping bag and decorate your cupcakes as desired.

16. Add a mini Jammy dodger to the top of your cakes and devour! 🙂

IMG_2823

Love S & P x

IMG_2838

12 thoughts on “Queen of Hearts ♥

  1. I absolutely LOVE how the little Jammy Dodger looks on the bottom of the cupcake… perfect for Valentine’s Day…isn’t it?? 🙂 These cupcakes look so lovely, and you know..I’m a cupcake kind of girl. I will be making these cupcakes as soon as I can get my hands on some Jammy Dodgers.
    I checked Amazon just now, and they are asking $20 for a pack of 12. I’m guessing that is kind of expensive… It’s so handy having an office in the UK, I just instant messaged a co-worker, warning him that the next time my boss comes to visit his office, I’m sending money with her…and he needs to go shopping for me!
    He did say that Jammy Dodgers are wonderful with coffee.. 🙂 In the meantime, I’ll have to sit and be patient..
    Lovely post!

    • Wowzers! $20 is crazy! Let me know if you ever want me to post some over for you – they are on offer for £1 at the moment over here!

      Thank you so much! It was lots of fun and really nice to make something so cute and interesting!

      P.s. Jammy dodgers are wonderful with anything and everything….! 🙂

  2. They look delicious, the colour of the icing is particularly pretty, predict this will make a welcome addition to valentines day

Leave a Reply

